Bio

SALLY WEINRAUB is a highly unusual debut author.
image description

 THIS APPEALS LAWYER, RAISED IN ENGLAND, HAD A "SWENEY" IN BROOKLYN AT 20 AND AT 95 IS PUBLISHING HER FIRST 4 COZY MYSTERIES! 

 

A native of Manchester, England, Sally came to the US during World War II and married and had four children. Then she went back to school, graduating first in her class at Manhattanville College. At age 50, at her husband’s urging, she went to Brooklyn Law School, where she made law review and moot court. Afterward, she worked as an appeals lawyer for some thirty years.

Then Sally retired and began writing mystery novels. She was unable to get an agent or publisher for her first book, but she kept on writing.

Now she has written four delightful cozy mysteries featuring the British-born sleuth Emily Lewis, an appeals lawyer. In her relentless quest to unmask murderers and free the falsely accused, Emily often stumbles into danger herself. Her British reserve almost obscures her passionate nature. 

Fans of Patricia Wentworth, Dorothy Sayers, and Marjorie Allingham will welcome this spirited newcomer 

Sally made her literary debut in March 2016, publishing this quartet of mystery novels just in time for her 95th birthday!

In March 2016, Sally proudly launched the career of Emily Lewis with these first four novels, just as the author celebrated her own 95th birthday.

Sally’s story of indefatigable persistence is highly inspirational. And the books will keep you up way past your bedtime!

“Sally Weinraub’s cozy mysteries offer detailed settings (Reno, Broadway, the Intrepid Museum, a Brooklyn mikvah), vivid characters, and unexpected plots. Her British-born sleuth, Emily Lewis, is utterly delightful, and the books she inhabits prove that a murder mystery can also be warm and witty.” Kathleen Rockwell Lawrence, author of Maud Gone
 

Books

in six week's time

In Six Weeks’ Time

In 1964 Emily Lewis seeks a divorce and goes to Reno for the required six weeks’ stay. She expects to be lonely and bored but is surprised by the camaraderie of the guesthouse residents, also awaiting their papers. The seeming idyll is shattered by a murder. When Inspector Reeves asks Emily to watch her fellow guests, she unwillingly agrees to help and is drawn into a complex and dangerous web.

Murder on the Intrepid

Murder on the Intrepid

In 1982, the U.S.S. Intrepid arrives in NYC as a war museum. The carrier’s old shipmates hold a reunion on the ship. Daniel Frey, a WWII veteran, travels from California for the reunion, hoping to retrieve a lost memory. When Dan is discovered standing over the dead bodies of two skinheads, he is arrested and found guilty of murder. Emily and her new boyfriend Sid, a private eye, expose the real killer.

Death of a Goddess

Death of a Goddess

Before a packed audience, Raymond Stark furiously stabs his glorious leading lady and ex-lover, Elena, with a fake knife. She rises to take her bows but is later found stabbed to death backstage. Raymond is arrested, and his friend, Lou Massey, and girlfriend Emily agree to investigate. They collide with a gang of jewel thieves and Lou is almost killed before apprehending the true villain.

Murder at the Mikvah

Murder at the Mikvah

Hannah, 17, is about to be married to an older businessman when she is accused of murdering her young lover at a ritual bathhouse in Brooklyn. Appeals lawyer Emily and private eye Sid set out to prove her innocence. But Hannah falls into the hands of a criminal gang, and Emily, searching to free her, is almost too late. When the murderer’s identity and motive are revealed, it’s a searing surprise.

News

Coming soon!

 

Larchmont Library Reading - September 25, 2016 at 4pm (Refreshments at 3:30)

Larchmont Library

 

 

Recent Events

Home on the Sound - August 23, 2016

 

Larchmont Ledger - August 20, 2016

http://larchmontledger.com/town4.html

 

The Southampton Press - June 26, 2016

http://www.27east.com/news/article.cfm/General-Interest-Southampton/482263/Sally-Weinraub-From-Lawyer-To-Novelist-At-Age-95

 

Making their Mark: Inspiring Women of Manhattanville - May 26, 2016

https://womenofmville.wordpress.com/

 

Manhattanville College News - May 2, 2016

http://mville.edu/news/2016/05/manhattanville-alumna-releases-murder-mystery-series-her-95th-birthday

 

The Jewish Voice - April 20, 2016

http://www.jewishvoiceny.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=14268:95-year-old-nyc-appeals-lawyer-releases-new-books-in-mystery-series&catid=93:art-a-culture&Itemid=276

 

Fios Channel 1 TV - April 20, 2016 

http://www.fios1news.com/lowerhudsonvalley/author-sally-weinraub#.VxfrldQrLIV  

 

Dan's Papers - April 12, 2016

http://www.danspapers.com/2016/04/southamptons-sally-weinraub-95-becomes-mystery-author/

 

Interview in the Journal News (Gannett Press) - April 12, 2016  

http://www.lohud.com/story/life/2016/04/12/mystery-novelist-publishes-four-novels-95th-birthday/82524780/

And a video to accompany the interview: 

http://www.lohud.com/videos/news/local/2016/04/11/82525926/   

 

Publication Party for Family and Friends, March 26, 2016

 

Publication date: March 11, 2016